SL vs AFG, 1st ODI, Highlights: Sri Lanka Secure Win by 42 Runs

SL vs AFG Highlights, 1st ODI at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. (Image: AFP)

SL vs AFG Highlights, 1st ODI at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. (Image: AFP)

SL vs AFG 1st ODI Highlights: Sri Lanka wins the first ODI by 42 runs to take the lead in the series 1-0.

Sri Lanka won the first ODI against Afghanistan by 42 runs at Pallekele. The Lankans take the lead in the three-match series 1-0.

The match began with the hosts batting first and opening batter, Pathum Nissanka etched his name in cricketing history by becoming the first Sri Lankan batter to score a double-hundred in ODIs.

The home side started off the innings strong as the opening pair of Nissanka and Fernando stitched up a solid 182-run partnership to set the platform for a big score. The batter then carried on to remain unbeaten till the end of the innings bringing up his double-century and setting a target of 382 runs.

Afghanistan were handed a big blow as they lost five wickets for a mere 55 runs within 10 overs. But the pair of Mohammad Nabi and Azmatullah Omarzai managed to stabilise the innings with a mammoth partnership worth 242 runs. Nabi was dismissed after scoring 136 while Azmatulah Omarzai played till the end remaining unbeaten on 149.

The Afghan side came close in the end, but the lack of runs at the top eventually cost them this win despite the valiant efforts from the middle-order batter. The batting pair managed to take the game deep by picking their moments to attack as opposed to going all-guns-blazing. Eventually, the wicket of Nabi thanks to a slower delivery from Madushan gave Sri Lanka the momentum they needed to keep their calm and take the victory in the end.

Sri Lanka is currently leading the series 1-0 and will play their second game against Afghanistan at Pallekele once again with the touring side aiming to keep the series alive.

Sri Lanka Playing XI: Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis(w/c), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Pramod Madushan

Afghanistan Playing XI: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi(c), Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil(w), Gulbadin Naib, Azmatullah Omarzai, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *