Ranji Trophy 2024 Quarter-finals: Skipper Sai Kishore Bags Fifer to Reduce Saurashtra for 183 at Stumps on Day 1

R Sai Kishore managed to bag five wickets in the Ranji Trophy quarterfinals against Saurashtra. (Image: Instagram/@saik_99)

R Sai Kishore managed to bag five wickets in the Ranji Trophy quarterfinals against Saurashtra. (Image: Instagram/@saik_99)

Skipper Sai Kishore led from the front in the quarterfinals fixture against Saurashtra as he bagged a five-wicket haul to put his side in front.

Tamil Nadu skipper R Sai Kishore continued his fine run in Ranji Trophy, scalping five wickets to help his side dismiss defending champions Saurashtra for 183 on day one of the quarterfinal match here on Friday.

With 43 wickets, the 27-year-old spinner has become the highest wicket-taker in the tournament so far this season.

In reply, Tamil Nadu were 23 for 1, with Saurashtra ahead by 160 runs.

The visitors opted to bat after winning the toss and almost immediately suffered a setback with Kevin Jivrajani (0) falling prey to Sandeep Warrier.

READ MORE: India vs England, 4th Test: Akash Deep Makes Cracking Debut

Opener Harvik Desai (83) and Sheldon Jackson (22) added 47 more to the total before the latter was cleaned up by Sai Kishore.

Cheteshwar Pujara (2), Saurahstra’s highest run-scorer this season, was sent back by Ajith Ram, with the score reading 61 for three.

Desai and Arpit Vasavada (25) then stitched a 44-run stand for the fourth wicket. However, the hosts ensured the partnership did last too long for comfort, with Ajith Ram trapping the latter leg before.

Thereafter, Saurashtra failed to get any proper partnership going, barely managing a couple of 30-plus stands.

READ MORE: R Ashwin 1st Indian to Take 100 Wickets and Score 1000 Runs Against Same Opponent in Tests

Sai Kishore got rid of Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (0), Chirag Jani (0), skipper Jaydev Unadkat (1) and Yuvrajsinh Dodiya (0) to bundle out the visitors for 183. Prerak Mankad remained unbeaten on 35.

Besides Sai Kishore, Ajith Ram and Sandeep Warrier also played their part in bowling, grabbing three and two wickets respectively.

Tamil Nadu too had an inauspicious start, losing Vimal Khumar (5) to Chirag Jani with just nine runs on the board.

Sai Kishore walked in next as the night-watchman, managing to bat out the remaining six overs for the day, as the hosts finished at 23 for one, trailing by 160 runs.

Brief scores: Saurashtra 183 in 77.1 overs (Harvik Desai 83; R Sai Kishore 5/66) lead Tamil Nadu 23/1 in 10 overs (Narayan Jagadeesan 12; Chirag Jani 1/4) by 160 runs.

(This story has not been edited by News18 staff and is published from a syndicated news agency feed – PTI)

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *