NZ vs AUS: Trent Boult Returns New Zealand Announce Squad for Australia T20Is

Curated By: Aakash Biswas

Last Updated: February 14, 2024, 00:12 IST

Trent Boult is back in New Zealand's T20I set-up (AFP Photo)

Trent Boult is back in New Zealand’s T20I set-up (AFP Photo)

Trent Boult will be playing his first T20I since November 2022. The likes of Josh Clarkson and Rachin Ravindra have also been named in the 14-man squad.

Ace speedster Trent Boult returned to New Zealand’s T20I set-up after 15 months as the Black Caps announced the squad for a 3-match series against Australia, starting next week. While the left-arm quick will be playing his first T20I since November 2022, the likes of Josh Clarkson and Rachin Ravindra have also been named in the 14-man squad.

Boult has been selected for the second and third games, at Eden Park on February 23 & 25, respectively, as Tim Southee will manage his workload between the South Africa and Australia Test series. The remainder of the T20 squad is the same as defeated Pakistan 4-1 in January, with just Ben Sears making way for Lockie Ferguson. The latter will be returning for the Auckland Aces in the Ford Trophy this Sunday, before joining up with the BLACKCAPS on Monday in Wellington.

New Zealand Selector Sam Wells said the unavailability of Williamson and Mitchell presented opportunities for others. Meanwhile, Daryl Mitchell and Kane Williamson are major absentees. The all-rounder has been sidelined due to a foot injury, the New Zealand captain will be on paternity leave.

“It’s never ideal missing two of your best players for such a big series, but in saying that, we do have a lot of faith in the guys coming in. Both Josh and Rachin have been in our white-ball squads this summer and it’s really exciting for them to now get this opportunity,” he said.

“Josh hits the ball as long and as hard as anyone and we were encouraged by his performances with the ball in his maiden ODI series against Bangladesh before Christmas. Rachin’s talent and class has been clear to all over the past six months, and similar to Josh, it’s great to have his all-round skill-set to call on in this squad,” Wells added.

New Zealand squad for Australia T20Is: Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (only for series opener).


1st T20I: February 21 at Sky Stadium, Wellington

2nd T20I: February 23 at Eden Park, Auckland

3rd T20I: February 25 at Eden Park, Auckland

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *