Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton Blasts Fastest Century in Men’s T20I History

Last Updated: February 27, 2024, 15:20 IST

Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton creates history. (Pic Credit: ICC)

Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton creates history. (Pic Credit: ICC)

Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton completed his century off just 33 deliveries during a T20I against Nepal to break the record.

Namibian batter Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton has etched his name in cricket history by hitting the quickest ever hundred in men’s T20Is, Loftie-Eaton created the new record during a T20I against Nepal at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

Walking in to bat at no. 5, Loftie-Eaton took just 33 deliveries to reach three figures having belted 11 fours and eight sixes during his record-breaking effort. This is his maiden T20I century.

Also Read: ‘Rohit Sharma is the Next MS Dhoni’

Namibia were at a middling 62/3 when Loftie-Eaton joined opener Malan Kruger in the middle and he changed the complexion of his team’s innings by peppering the boundary with gorgeous hits.

Loftie-Eaton’s 36-ball 101 propelled Namibia to 206/4 after their captain JJ Smit opted to bat first in the Tri-series opener which also features the Netherlands.

Loftie-Eaton wasn’t done though as he later claimed two wickets in his three overs to cap off a brilliant all-round performance.

Interestingly, the 22-year-old Namibian broke the record of Nepal batter Kushal Malla who was part of the contest. Malla had taken 34 deliveries to smash a century against Namibia last year.

India’s Rohit Sharma, South African David Miller and Sudesh Wickramasekara of Czech Republic have slipped to joint-third on the list of quickest T20I hundreds with each taking 35 balls.

Rank Name Balls
1 Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton 33
2 Kushal Malla 34
3 Rohit Sharma, David Miller, Sudesh Wickramasekara 35
4 Sivakumar Periyalwar, Zeeshan Kukikhel, Johnson Charles 39
5 K Kadowaki-Fleming, Ollie Hairs 40

Five quickest centuries in Men’s T20I

Chasing 207, Nepal lost their openers inside the first three overs before recovering to 77/2. They were eventually bowled out for 186 with Namibia winning by 20 runs.

Dipendra Singh Airee top-scored for the hosts with 48 off 32 while captain Roshit Paudel made 42 off 24 and Malla 32 off 21.

Ruben Trumpelmann was the star with the ball for Namibia as he took 4/29 from 3.5 overs. Loftie-Eaton, Jan Frylinck and Bernard Scholtz chipped in with a couple of wickets each.

Nepal will next face the Netherlands tomorrow at the same venue.

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *