IPL 2024: Dushmantha Chameera Replaces Gus Atkinson in Kolkata Knight Riders’ Squad

Last Updated: February 19, 2024, 17:15 IST

Dushmantha Chameera has taken 118 wickets from 119 T20s so far. (BCCI Photo)

Dushmantha Chameera has taken 118 wickets from 119 T20s so far. (BCCI Photo)

Dushmantha Chameera has represented Lucknow Super Giants in the past, playing in 12 matches for them during IPL 2022.

Gus Atkinson has been ruled out of the upcoming IPL 2024 with his franchise Kolkata Knight Riders replacing the England pacer with Sri Lankan allrounder Dushmantha Chameera.

KKR placed a successfull bid of Rs 1 crore to buy Atkinson at the IPL 2024 auction held in December last year. The 26-year-old has taken 62 wickets in 46 T20s and has an economy of 8.77.

Also Read: Pakistan Pacer Naseem Shah Praises Virat Kohli

Chameera will join KKR at a reserve price of Rs 50 Lakh.

The 32-year-old Sri Lankan is known for bowling at high pace and can trouble the batters with his swing and seam movements.

In the past he’s been part of various IPL squads including Rajasthan Royals (IPL 2018) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (IPL 2021).

Chameera though made his IPL debut for Lucknow Super Giants during the 2022 season and went on to pick up nine wickets from 12 matches.

KKR entered the latest IPL auction with a purse of Rs 32.70 crore and they created history by bidding a whopping Rs 24.75 crore to sign Australian left-arm pacer Mitchell Starc making him the most expensive buy in the history of the league.

They bought a total of 10 players including KS Bharat, Chetan Sakariya, Starc, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Mujeeb Rahman, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Ramandeep Singh, Sakib Hussain and Atkinson.

KKR Updated Full Squad for IPL 2024: Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Jason Roy, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, KS Bharat, Chetan Sakariya, Mitchell Starc, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Ramandeep Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dushmantha Chameera, Sakib Hussain.

KKR have won IPL twice in their history, both the titles coming under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, in 2012 and 2014. However, since then, they have only managed to reach the final once, during 2021 when they lost to Chennai Super Kings.

For the past two seasons, they haven’t been able to qualify for the playoffs, finishing seventh on each occasion.

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *