IND vs ENG: India Set England 557 to Win, Declaring at 430/4 Powered by Yashasvi Jaiswal’s Unbeaten 214

Last Updated: February 18, 2024, 13:56 IST

IND vs ENG, 3rd Test: Yashasvi Jaiswal mashed 214 not out (AP)

IND vs ENG, 3rd Test: Yashasvi Jaiswal mashed 214 not out (AP)

Yashasvi Jaiswal smashed an unbeaten 214 as India declared their second innings on 430-4 to set England a victory target of 557.

India set England a target of 557 to win after Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 214 and Sarfaraz Khan’s quick-fire 68 not out powered India to 430 for 4 declared in their second innings on Day 4 of the third Test against England on Sunday.

India added 116 runs in 16 overs after lunch.

IND vs ENG, 3rd Test Day 4 – LIVE

India opener Yashasvi Jaiswal hit his second double century in successive Tests after he resumed his innings on day four of the third match against England on Sunday.

The left-hander, who retired hurt on 104 on day three, took a single off Joe Root to get to 200 in the second session in Rajkot.

He removed his helmet, kissed the India logo and raised both his arms to a cheering Sunday crowd that rose for a standing ovation.

Jaiswal, 22, has been in prolific form after he hit a match-winning 209 in the second Test and leads the batting chart in the five-match series with more than 500 runs.

He is playing his seventh match and 12th innings in a career that began last year with a debut knock of 171 in the West Indies.

The left-handed Jaiswal took the attack to the opposition in an unbeaten 172-run stand with debutant Sarfaraz Khan (68).

ALSO READ | IND vs ENG, 3rd Test: BCCI Confirms Ravichandran Ashwin to Rejoin India on Day 4

Earlier, resuming from 196 for 2, India lost the wickets of Shubman Gill, who missed out on a century by nine runs, and night-watchman Kuldeep Yadav (27).

Jaiswal, who hit 14 fours and 12 sixes, had retired hurt on 104 on Saturday due to back spasms.

He returned on this day and stayed unbeaten at 214 along with Sarfaraz when India declared.

For England, Rehan Ahmed conceded 108 runs for his one wicket in his 25 overs, while Joe Root (1/111) and Tom Hartley (1/78) were the other wicket takers.

(With inputs from Agencies)

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *