Hawk-eye Issues Apology to PCB After Error in Game Between Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators


Hawk-eye Issues Apology to PCB After Error in Game Between Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators. (X)

Hawk-eye Issues Apology to PCB After Error in Game Between Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators. (X)

Gladiators’ skipper Rilee Rossouw handed a lifeline as the technology used declared that the batsman was not out when the side opted for a review after Aleem Dar had raised the finger to signal the wicket of the batter as his missed attempt to sweep Salman Ali Aga’s delivery hit his pad in front of the wicket.

The Quetta Gladiators picked up a three-wicket win over Islamabad United on Thursday in the Pakistan Super League at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

The match was noted for the error made by Hawk-eye which saw the Gladiators’ skipper Rilee Rossouw handed a lifeline as the technology used declared that the batsman was not out when the side opted for a review after Aleem Dar had raised the finger to signal the wicket of the batter as his missed attempt to sweep Salman Ali Aga’s delivery hit his pad in front of the wicket.

The Hawk-eye technology not only determined that the ball had hit the southpaw outside the line of the stumps but also that it would also have gone on to miss off stump.

The cal from Hawk-eye surprised the umpire and the stunned Islamabad players, as Rossouw continued his time at the crease thanks to the error. He went on to make an unbeaten 34-run contribution off 38 deliveries as he led his side to victory.

The Gladiators managed to chase down the target as they made 139 runs for the loss of 7 wickets with ten deliveries and three wickets to spare.

Following the error, hawk-eye issued an apology letter addressed to the PCB Chief Operating Officer Salman Naseer, stating that the ball tracking for the delivery in question did not reflect the path of the actual delivery that had been sent up for review.

It is as yet unclear as to what caused the error that turned the tide of the game in favour of the Gladiators.

Islamabad skipper Shabad Khan was visibly upset over the error that cost his side the game.

“I think technology made a mistake,” Khan said.

“The ball-tracking showed a different delivery, and it was a match-changing moment,” he lamented.

“These sorts of things should be sorted out properly in such a big tournament. These mistakes should not happen,” he continued.

“I bowled four overs here as a legspinner, and I don’t think the ball was spinning here. And they showed Agha’s delivery hitting outside off stump and spinning away. I don’t buy that,” Khan vented his frustration.



Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *