AUS vs WI 1st ODI Highlights: Australia Beat West Indies by 8 Wickets

Last Updated: February 02, 2024, 17:49 IST

Australia face West Indies in the first ODI today. Follow AUS vs WI live score here. (AFP Photo)

Australia face West Indies in the first ODI today. Follow AUS vs WI live score here. (AFP Photo)

AUS vs WI highlights score 1st ODI: Follow all the highlights from the first ODI between Australia and West Indies from the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

After an entertaining end to the two-match Test series, Australia and West Indies switch to ODI mode from today when they clash in the three-match series opener at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

AUS vs WI 1st ODI Follow: Scorecard | Commentary

Australia won the toss and opted to bowl first. Their wicketkeeper-batter Josh Inglis is playing despite testing positive for covid.

Playing XIs

Australia: Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wicketkeeper), Steven Smith (captain), Cameron Green, Marnus Labuschagne, Matthew Short, Aaron Hardie, Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Lance Morris, Adam Zampa

West Indies: Justin Greaves, Alick Athanaze, Keacy Carty, Shai Hope (captain, wicketkeeper), Kavem Hodge, Roston Chase, Romario Shepherd, Matthew Forde, Hayden Walsh, Gudakesh Motie, Oshane Thomas

The hosts have given debut to Xavier Bartlett, Lance Morris.

This is the first time that Australia will be playing an ODI since their record-extending sixth title win in the world cup final last year in India. West Indies weren’t part of the showpiece event after failing to qualify for it for the first time in their history.

The gloom of that setback has lifted thanks to their historic Test win in Brisbane late last month. Can the visitors keep the momentum going against the world champions?

Full Squads

Australia: Matthew Short, Travis Head, Steven Smith (captain), Marnus Labuschagne, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Josh Inglis (wicketkeeper), Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Sean Abbott, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa, Xavier Bartlett, Lance Morris

West Indies: Shai Hope (captain/wicketkeeper), Kavem Hodge, Alick Athanaze, Teddy Bishop, Kjorn Ottley, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph, Hayden Walsh, Matthew Forde, Oshane Thomas, Tevin Imlach, Gudakesh Motie

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *