New Zealand vs South Africa, 2nd Test Day 3 Live Updates and Scorecard

New Zealand vs South Africa, 2nd Test, Day 3 Live (AFP Photo)

New Zealand vs South Africa, 2nd Test, Day 3 Live (AFP Photo)

NZ vs SA, Day 3 Live Score: Check the scorecard for the third day of the second Test between New Zealand and South Africa taking place at Hamilton.

The Proteas will look to get their second innings off on a strong note with the skipper Neal Brand along with Clyde Fortuin opening the innings.

The young South African side has managed to put up a surprising fightback, restricting the Kiwis to 211 and thereby securing a 41-run lead which could make a massive difference in what seems to be bowling-friendly conditions.

New Zealand’s batting succumbed to a disciplined attack led by Piedt, in his first Test since 2019, to be all out for 211 in response to South Africa’s 242 in Hamilton.

With plenty of time on their hands to post a sizeable lead, the South African side will look to play the experienced Kiwi bowling attack with intent as they aim to create a massive upset.

New Zealand on the other hand under the leadership of Tim Southee will look to pick up early wickets and put out any chances of a South African coming back to take the upper hand in the Test. The trio of Southee, Wagner and Henry will be expected to lead the bowling attack with support from the debutant O’Rourke Glenn Phillips and Rachin Ravindra as well.

South Africa will hope to get a good batting display if they are to have any chance of levelling the series which will be an unexpected turn of events considering the inexperienced squad they have sent in.

The pair of Tim Southee and Matt Henry have started the day with the new ball and to pick up the early breakthroughs to push New Zealand ahead.

South Africa (Playing XI) – Clyde Fortuin (WK), Neil Brand (C), Raynard van Tonder, Zubayr Hamza, David Bedingham, Keegan Petersen, Ruan de Swardt, Shaun von Berg, Dane Piedt, Tshepo Moreki, Dane Paterson.

New Zealand (Playing XI) – Devon Conway, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Rachin Ravindra, Will Young, Tom Blundell (WK), Glenn Phillips, Matt Henry, Tim Southee (C), Neil Wagner, William O’Rourke.

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *