India Squad for Final Three England Tests: Who’s In and Who’s Out?

Last Updated: February 10, 2024, 12:12 IST

KL Rahul (left) and Ravindra Jadeja. (AP Photo)

KL Rahul (left) and Ravindra Jadeja. (AP Photo)

A look at all the changes the Indian team management has made for the remaining three Tests of the England series at home.

There may have been a short break between the second and third Tests but the sky-high anticipation around the India squad announcement for the remaining matches against England ensured no shortage of thrill.

Days before the series opener, Virat Kohli withdrew his name from the India squad for the first two Tests and it was hoped he might return later. However, reports later claim that the batting superstar might end up missing the entire series.

Add to it the suspense over the fitness status of KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja.

After a wait lasting couple of days, the Indian men’s team selectors finalised the squad with BCCI confirming via a media release that Kohli has informed them he won’t be available for the next three matches as well.

On Saturday morning, BCCI named a 17-man India squad. Here’s a look at who made the cut and who missed out.


The injured duo of Rahul and Jadeja has been included with a rider that their participation depends entirely on fitness clearance from the BCCI medical team. Rahul had complained of pain in his right quadriceps while Jadeja hurt his hamstring and thus were ruled out from the Vizag Test which India won by 106 runs to draw level at one-all in the five-match series.

Uncapped fast bowler Akash Deep has been given a maiden India Test call-up. The 27-year-old fast bowler was impressive during the unofficial Test series between India A and England Lions taking 13 wickets from three games.

The OUTs

Middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer has been dropped from the Test squad. Iyer had managed to score 50 just once in his previous 10 Test innings and after managing 35, 13, 27 and 29 in the four innings of the first two Tests against England, he has lost his place.

Avesh Khan has also been left out from the squad after being recalled for the 2nd Test. The fast bowler was also part of India’s first Test squad but released for Madhya Pradesh’s Ranji Trophy match against Puducherry.

Uncapped Uttar Pradesh allrounder Sourabh Kumar was also not picked after being recalled for the 2nd Test.

Meanwhile, Sarfaraz Khan, who received a maiden Test call-up for the Vizag fixture, has kept his place as has allrounder Washington Sundar – both along with Sourabh were added to the second Test squad after injuries to Rahul and Jadeja.

India Squad for final 3 Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul*, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja*, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *