Explained: Why Ravichandran Ashwin Won’t Incur Any Penalty After Missing Nearly Two Days of Rajkot Test


Last Updated: February 18, 2024, 15:49 IST

Ravichandran Ashwin recently took his 500th wicket in Test cricket. (BCCI Photo)

Ravichandran Ashwin recently took his 500th wicket in Test cricket. (BCCI Photo)

Late on Thursday, the BCCI announced that Ravichandran Ashwin has left the India squad due to a family emergency but he returned on Saturday afternoon to rejoin the team.

Ravichandran Ashwin finally rejoined his India teammate in Rajkot after leaving the third Test midway earlier this week due to a family emergency. Ashwin was seen warming up right before the start of the third session of play on the fourth day.

Ashwin left after the conclusion of the second day’s play and missed the entirety of Day 3 and the first two sessions on Saturday.

However, the 37-year-old will be allowed to bowl straightaway without the requirement of spending some time on the field to make up for his absence.

As per an ICC rule, “A nominated player’s absence will not incur Penalty time if, in the opinion of umpires, if the player has left the field for other wholly acceptable reason, which shall not include illness or internal injury.”



Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *