All-time IPL XI: MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli Make the Cut, Chris Gayle, Yuzvendra Chahal Among Impact Players

Last Updated: February 18, 2024, 13:13 IST

(From left) Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma. (BCCI Photo)

(From left) Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma. (BCCI Photo)

With another season of IPL set to roll in a few weeks’ time, the likes of Wasim Akram, Matthew Hayden, Dale Steyn and Tom Moody gathered to pick the greatest XI in the league’s history.

Some of the greatest T20 stars from across the globe have brought their talents to the Indian Premier League, churning out memorable performances for various franchises in the past 16 years.

Also Read: MS Dhoni or Rohit Sharma? Legends Pick Captain of Greatest IPL Team

From the time of its inception in 2008, months after India’s historic title win at the inaugural World T20 in South Africa, the IPL has become a stage where the established stars have added to their legend while it has also served as a platform for the upcoming stars to prove their mettle.

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the two most successful franchises in the history of IPL, each lifting the silverware five times.

During Star Sports’ show Incredible 16, the legendary Matthew Hayden, Wasim Akram, Dale Steyn and Tom Moody picked their all-time greatest playing XI based on the past 16 seasons.

The team comprises five specialist batters, a wicketkeeper-batter, two allrounders – one fast bowling, the other spinner, one specialist spinner and two pure fast bowlers.

Australian star David Warner, who also captained Sunrisers Hyderabad to their only IPL title, has been picked as the opener along with Rohit Sharma who has six IPL title wins to his name, five of them as captain alone.

No. 3 is a no-brainer with the all-time leading run-getter in IPL history Virat Kohli slotting in nicely. At no. 4 is Mr 360 degrees AB de Villiers followed by Suresh Raina.

The legendary MS Dhoni is the wicketkeeper-batter and also the captain for having won five IPL titles for CSK.

Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja are the two allrounders while Afghanistan star Rashid Khan is the lone specialist spinner.

The fast bowling department will be helmed by Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah.

Chris Gayle, the holder of the highest score in IPL history and the quickest century too, has made the cut as an impact player alongside Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Andre Russell.

Greatest IPL XI: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

Impact Players: Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *